Oisín Hurley's Weblog

old dog, new tricks

Sic transit gloria mundi

with 11 comments

Dear Diary,

Got laid off today, sausages for tea.

Even when you’re an old hand, there’s a first time for everything. Myself, and plenty others more talented than I, fell under the unexpected cash-cushioned hammer of a lay-off today. This marks the first time I’ve not had a regular income since 1985, which is a bit of a thrill. Also it may have been while you, dearest reader, weren’t on solids yet. (Hopefully I’m being read by people younger than me. If you don’t wear glasses, that counts. Or I’m claiming it at least.)

What’s keeping me bouyant, in the non-physical sense, is the fact that I’ve spent the last few years contributing and being a part of open-source communities. The wheel is still turning and the hamster is not yet dead — while my employers may change, I can still write the code I want to write, further the projects I favour to be furthered, and continue to do the things I enjoy doing. This is the beauty, for any developer, to be in open source. You get, for free, an option on continuity that is new and unique, a possibility of satisfaction that your contributions to the global corpus of software is not going to rot in a hopelessly un-administered clearcase repository in the bowels of a corporation. I’m going to spend some time now working through some karmic burdens which have been drifting up against the for-pay-wall, and I’m going to enjoy it.

By the way, I’ll see you all at EclipseCon. If you don’t put speaker names to your talks right now, as soon as I write this, your ass will be slung out of the program. We will make an effigy of you, and either burn it in situ or send it to be consumed by hollowed-out meaty integuments of the NetBeans engineers. You don’t even get the choice.

Oh, and by the by, if you haven’t already discerned, I will attempt to ensure that the removal of the restraining bolt will result in a bit more than a choppy video of some lady in a dress 🙂

For shorter spoutings, follow @oisin on twitter.

Written by oisinhurley

February 26, 2010 at 1:25 am

Posted in open source

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whoa boy. Sounds like you’re going to be letting your hair down as it were.

    I have a feeling some of these receptions are going to be legendary, and the mornings very long.

    – Don

    Donald Smith

    February 26, 2010 at 3:24 am

  2. Oisín,

    The ability to walk away from your employer with full access to the intellectual property on which you’ve invested years of blood, sweat, and tears is truly liberating. Power was meant to be shared. Welcome to a new free world.

    Ed Merks

    February 26, 2010 at 11:53 am

  3. Oisín,
    You will be missed. Best of luck.
    Cheers,
    Eric

    Eric J.

    February 26, 2010 at 12:34 pm

  4. Would say “sorry for your loss” but I’m sure you will be enjoying your time off 🙂 Been a pleasure working with you! Hope to still see you around in opensource-land.

    Cheers,
    Jon

    Jonathan

    February 26, 2010 at 1:56 pm

  5. Best of luck Oisin.

    I’ll bring the scotch at EclipseCon.

    Chris Aniszczyk

    February 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm

  6. Very sorry to hear this. I wish you all the best to find soon a new cool and challenging job.

    Lars Vogel

    February 26, 2010 at 5:21 pm

  7. Oisin,
    wish you luck – there are many opportunities out there in open-source-space – with your long-time-knowledge I’m sure you’ll get exciting offers.
    ekke

    ekkescorner

    February 26, 2010 at 5:35 pm

  8. Oisin, perhaps this is just the universe’s way of presenting an opportunity to expand your horizons. Best of luck in all you do.

    Fitz

    February 26, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  9. Oisin, it has been a pleasure and honor knowing you. I bet it will be a very brief pit-stop on the journey. Time to refuel and march on…

    Love eclipse and ur contributions to it.

    Warm regards & best wishes,

    Ashwin

    Ashwin Karpe

    March 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  10. Hi Oisin,

    Didn’t see that one coming. You were always one of the “good guys”. Mind you I too ran into some issues with my previous employer last year, and I was Founder and CEO. Now moved onto other things, but it took a while. We should chat at EclipseCon. I can no longer justify bringing bottles of Scapa scotch, but I’m sure we can find something in our Colonial cousins’ bars. While I’m here can I “plug” proposal for a BOF on Static Analysis at EclipseCon. https://www.eclipsecon.org/submissions/2010/view_talk.php?id=1636 I only got it together yesterday, and I hope I didn’t miss any deadlines.

    Mike

    Mike Norman

    March 10, 2010 at 5:19 pm

  11. […] Chair for EclipseCon 2010. Now, alas, I’ve lapsed. Instead of getting a nice easy job after my release from Progress last year, I’ve foolishly decided to startup a software business with a couple of guys. I […]


Leave a Reply

