Oisín Hurley's Weblog

old dog, new tricks

Camel Spit

with 4 comments

What goes into a When?

Isn’t it great when you get an excuse to learn something? Even though you have a to-do list the length of your leg already?  Inspired by this potential enhancement to Apache Camel, intrigued by Xtext and (crucially) enabled by two full batteries and a flight to Boston, I hacked up a simple grammar for a DSL to describe Apache Camel routes and generated a syntax-checking Eclipse editor. It’s not pretty yet, but you can see the result at the Camel Extra project – introducing the charmingly named Camel Spit.

Written by oisinhurley

November 4, 2008 at 12:16 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Oisín,

    it’s great to see people pick up Xtext to replace internal DSLs with external DSLs. I am always interested in hearing how people like Xtext, so feel free to drop me a line or two.

    Peter

    Peter Friese

    November 5, 2008 at 11:42 pm

  2. Thanks Peter – you’ll probably see me asking dumb questions on the eclipse.modeling.tmf newsgroup too 🙂

    Biggest challenge at the moment is the odd Java/OCL language that’s used for extensions – next job on the list to try to get the outline view to do the right thing for me…

    Oisin

    November 6, 2008 at 11:42 am

  3. Oisín,

    from your comments on the eclipse.modeling.tmf newgroup I understand that you’re using Xtext / oAW 4.3.x. You might consider having a look at the openArchitectureWare / Xtext forums at http://www.openarchitectureware.org.

    I just checked out your code from SVN to have a look how I might help you. However, as the grammar has a considerable size, it’s not so easy for me to come up with a meaningful example. So, if you like, just send me a sample model and let me know how you would like your outline to look like and also how you would like your error messages (medium, raw, well-done :-P).

    Peter Friese

    November 7, 2008 at 10:47 am

  4. Hi Peter – am I using the incorrect stuff? I really don’t want to pull in oAW if I can get away with not having to do that..

    Your offer of help is very much appreciated! 🙂 Check out issue 14 : http://code.google.com/p/camel-extra/issues/detail?id=14

    oisinhurley

    November 7, 2008 at 4:38 pm


Leave a Reply

