Oisín Hurley's Weblog

old dog, new tricks

Sparrow – a new Mac Mail Application

leave a comment »

I really try to steer clear of blogging about individual pieces of non-developer-oriented software, but I’m making an exception for Sparrow, a new Mac-based frontend application for Gmail. Screenshot with privacy-enhancing blurs below.

Sparrow Screenshot

I guess the first question is, why don’t I just use the browser of my choice to read email? Well, it’s because I don’t like using the browser to read email, thanks. And since I have a number of Gmail accounts, Sparrow makes it much easier to switch, with its Tweetie-like interface.

It’s very early days for this client, so there are some glitches and sometimes the UI feels a little slow during sync. I can forgive that for a work in progress. It’s now up to the developers not to screw it by adding in piles of unnecessary features. Watch the Sparrow blog for details.

Written by oisinhurley

October 6, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,979 other followers

